Day 91 – A New Career Path?

 

Today I took a leap of faith and applied to a job that is a completely different career path from what I’ve been doing. It’s a retail position, but the company is consistently listed on Fortune’s Top 100 Companies to work for. They offer continuous training throughout your first year and the opportunity to really grow with the company. It’s something about which I’m excited, but also a bit scared. I mean, it’s not like I even have the job, but it’s me going out on a limb and starting down a road that’s a new direction from what I’ve been doing.

I spoke with a childhood friend last night and she told me “Get over your pride and don’t be afraid to ask for the job.” She’s been laid off twice, but currently has a job for which she worked long and hard.

I figure if I’m going to take a new direction, now’s the time to do it. After 25 years of working, I need to step up to the plate and decide what I REALLY want to do…. And I’ll let y’all know what that is, as soon as I figure it out. I have many ideas and also have many waves of panic over switching my career path.

I’m thinking I just need to “Put on my big girl panties and deal with it!”

Leave a Reply

