Day 99 – The importance of friends

 

 

Friday was a great day.  I was looking forward to meeting former colleagues, that had also been laid off, for dinner.  Friends are so important during a transition period, such as looking for a job or changing your career.  We had such a good time, laughed a lot, caught up on what was going on with each of them, vented, and just had a great time.

I also had two leads come in on friday, and am hopeful that I’ll get a chance to speak with some of the people looking to hire. I do try to enjoy some of my “time off,”  but I also kind of feel guilty if I take time off and am not concentrating on the job search for a day.  I try to remind myself that this is the first time in 25 years that I’ve not had a job.  I try to think of things that I can tackle before I’m back working full-time, like starting that cross stitch pattern I purchased 4 years ago, or painting another piece of furniture, or painting some rooms up at our cabin… there are plenty of things to do.  I’ll get to some of them, but I’m sure some may have to wait.

Speaking of things to do… I am planning on refreshing my flowers as we head into fall.  I was at Lowe’s yesterday and they had an entire rack of asters marked at   .50/container!!  I grabbed 4 of them, but am thinking I’ll head back to purchase some more, as I love having some color around my garden.

I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend and a chance to spend time with good friends!

 

Leave a Reply

