Day 100 & 101 – Well, it’s official, I’ve been unemployed for 100+ days

It’s official… 100 days and counting of unemployment.  (insert Debbie Downer sound here)  Guess I was naive as I joined the millions of unemployed folks.  I sure didn’t think I’d hit the 100 day mark, but then again, I just read an article on the average length of time it takes the hiring departments to offer an interview, make a hire, etc.  That average time, according to this article is 2 months!!!  Need to show that to my mom when she asks if I’ve heard from a company that I just applied to two days ago.  Seriously, I know everyone has a pretty good idea of what it’s like out there.  It’s a jungle of resumes, contacts, networking, follow-up phone calls, unanswered emails, unanswered phone calls, which is why I like to cut out little positive reminders for myself – like the horoscope readings that I see in the paper.  No, I don’t believe that they hold much weight, but they are fun to read, and hey – I can use all the positive messages I can handle right now, so why not!?

I hope everyone had a great weekend.  The cooler temps, college football and good friends brought me a great deal of happiness this weekend.

P.S.  Here’s a link to some fun, upcoming festivals for this fall – enjoy!

http://atlantabuzz.com/category/festivals-fairs/

Leave a Reply

