Looking for an inexpensive way to create a unique mirror?

Well check this out!  I found this fun idea on a fellow blogger’s/DIY site.  This chick has some great ideas and most are pretty doable.  I’ve already downloaded some of her letterpress-looking letters for framing and then I found this great idea for a mirror!  Before I go any further, her site is: Shanty2Chic – check it out!  I’m sure you’ll love her ideas as much as I do.

Now, without further ado… let’s get started on the steps for this project.

1.  You’ll want to find a small shipping pallet, or if you’re really handy like Shanty2Chic, you can make one.  I luckily had access to one through my husband’s work.   You’ll want to make sure it’s a small pallet, as those things can be huge for different types of freight.    Mine measured 28″w x 18″ tallIMG_0613

 

 

 

 

 

I purchased a wood stain at Lowe’s called “Weathered Gray”, since I wanted a grayish-blue tint to it.

IMG_0614

 

 

 

 

Then I went to town brushing it on the wood, letting the stain sit for a few minutes, before wiping off to the desired effect I wanted.  I let it dry for a couple of days and then attached the mirror, which is part of  the Target Threshold” line.  I love the lines of the mirror and it was only like $17.

Stained pallet

Stained pallet

mirror from Target
mirror from Target
Here’s the final product hanging above the fireplace – Ta dah!  I love it. 
Here are some other thought starters for decorating above your fireplace – Enjoy!
The finished product hanging above the fireplace

The finished product hanging above the fireplace

2 thoughts on “Looking for an inexpensive way to create a unique mirror?

Leave a Reply

