I think I was Italian in another life

IMG_0575Yes, I have dark hair, brown eyes, grew up Catholic and love all things Italian, but I’m not Italian… Although I think maybe in another life I could have been.

 

Ask me what my comfort food is.  It’s not homemade mac- n -cheese, or chicken noodle soup – I’ll take a big plate of Spaghetti, a dish of Eggplant Rigatoni or a steaming bowl of Sunday Gravy,  a crusty loaf of bread , and a nice bottle of Chianti anytime!

Yummy bowl of Sunday Gravy

Yummy bowl of Sunday Gravy

Tasty Chianti

Tasty Chianti

Add to that the fact that I’m obsessed with reading about the history of the Italian mafia (no, I don’t believe in glorifying their brutal crimes), but I l do have a fascination with the history of the mob-   So much so, that my husband bought me a Time Life CD set on the mob.  I even drug him to see the Vegas Mob Experience and museum at the Tropicana last year, which by the way is interactive and very interesting.

Going to Little Italy in New York, and the North End  in Boston, was wonderful.  The sights and sounds of those little pieces of a country right here in America, had me in awe.  I mean, what’s not to like?  Good food, a sense of community, delicious bakeries like Modern Bakery in Boston, where the line was out the door at 10 p.m. at night,  or the fabulous meat and cheese shops in Little Italy in New York.  I wanted to pack an entire suitcase full of yummy sausages, cheeses, pastas, pastries etc. and bring them back down South.

But, for now, I’ll just enjoy my Italian wines,  cook my favorite Italian dishes and continue to appreciate all the wonderful taste sensations and history of the Italian lifestyle (which I’m quite sure I was a part of in another life ).

By the way, a fun summer read called, “I loved, I lost, I made Spaghetti”, by Giulia Melucci is packed with wonderful Italian recipes.  I loved the recipes in the book so much, that I won’t pass my book on for any of my friends to read!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

