A Summer Porch Refresh

Well, I had originally intended to write about this a month ago… then summer happened. 🙂 I love summer, but the time seems to slip by so quickly, and now we’re half way through summer and here I am just now blogging about my porch refresh!
So,  here’s the before picture
(I think it looks a little depressing with all the dark colors)

Before porch refresh

Before porch refresh

I was on a mission to find some bright green pillows, as I’d seen a porch photo in Ballard’s with black and white striped pillows with a pop of bright green cushions for chairs.

I was trying to keep spending to a minimum and found out that Bed, Bath and Beyond had cushions for Adirondack chairs, at a pretty reasonable rate compared to all other places I’d searched. I ordered them online and Voila! – they came in just a few days.

 

My new bright green cushions with black and white pillow!

My new bright green cushions with black and white pillows!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The throw pillows I found at Walmart, and they’re outdoor fabric, which will make it much easier to keep them clean.

fun green pillow with Greek key pattern - from Walmart!

fun green pillow with Greek key pattern – from Walmart!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also found this fun outdoor canvas at Bed, Bath and Beyond (and got to use a coupon on this!)

Outdoor Canvas

Outdoor Canvas

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I then got to work on painting the table on our porch.
I call this one my “tuxedo table” since I decided to leave most of the table’s legs white, while painting the top of the table and top portion of the legs black, using my trusty choice of Rust-Oleum spray paint.

Roughing up the table with a quick sanding

Roughing up the table with a quick sanding

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Finished table!

Finished table!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also added two glass vases (that I bought at Goodwill for .99 each), then I painted them with Rust-Oleum Chalkboard paint, using Frog Tape to mark of areas to create the lines around the vases.

Goodwill glass vases, taped off with Frogtape and painted with Rust-o-leum Chalkboard paint

Goodwill glass vases, taped off with Frog Tape and painted with Rust-Oleum Chalkboard paint

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Finished vases

Finished vases

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And, finally, one last touch… I found these little lanterns over the years at various stores and tied them with rope and hung them at different levels – I had seen this in Pottery Barn, and had loved the look of it.

Lanterns hung with rope

Lanterns hung with rope

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, what do you think?  I’m happy with it and it didn’t cost me a ton of money, plus I liked the instant gratification of buying my pillow/cushions.

Any fun projects you’ve completed this summer?  Would love to hear about them!

2 thoughts on “A Summer Porch Refresh

  1. Great looking porch! I love the vases too! It’s the perfect place to sit and enjoy morning coffee, right? 😉

Leave a Reply

