Easy Canvas Wall Art

Happy Saturday! Can you believe it’s August already? Where did the summer go?
As I scramble to enjoy the last month of summer, I have begun adding to my to-do list and one of the items was to create some wall art for our family room.
My inspiration was this fabulous earthenware tray I saw in Country Living Magazine.

My inspiration

My inspiration

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The tray is made by artist Susan Dwyer and you can find it at her Etsy shop: etsy.com/shop/upintheairsomewhere

So, after falling in love with that tray I thought – Hey, I think I can replicate that design on canvas.  As luck would have it, 3M contacted me and asked if I would like to create something using their ScotchBlue Painter’s Tape TM.  I was thrilled to do this!  So, this morning I got my cup of coffee and got busy creating.

I used a 20″x 24″ canvas and taped off my design (it’s not Exactly like the tray, but I still like the final outcome).

20" x 24" canvas and ScotchBlue painter's tape

20″ x 24″ canvas and ScotchBlue Painter’s Tape TM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

taped out design on canvas

taped out design on canvas

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Design completely tape out and ready to paint!

Design completely taped out and ready to paint!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I could hardly wait to start painting!  I used Martha Stewart’s Metallic Multi-surface paint in Yellow Gold.

Martha Stewart's Multi-surface paint in Yellow Gold

Martha Stewart’s Multi-surface paint in Yellow Gold

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Completely painted canvas

Completely painted canvas

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The tape bubbled slightly, so I was careful to paint over the edges to create a bit of a seal, so paint wouldn’t seep underneath.  I also didn’t load my brush with too much paint, but did small sections and took my time – I didn’t want to mess it up!

Since I’m always overly-anxious to see the results, I removed a test strip from the top of the canvas to see how it looked.  Well, that pretty much did it, I then began to quickly, and carefully remove the tape and was so excited with the results.

Finished canvas

Finished canvas

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Proudly hung in my family room

Proudly hung in my family room

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_0001 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

Start to finish, the whole thing probably took me 45 minutes.    I LOVE the finished product!  (insert squeal here)  🙂

 

Now I’m motivated to try another canvas project.  I’ll keep you posted on my next inspiration that I come across.

 

Wishing you a wonderful weekend!

 

3 thoughts on “Easy Canvas Wall Art

Leave a Reply

