Super-Easy, Yummy Energy Bar Recipe

I found a super easy energy bar recipe that’s satisfying and provides me with the nutrition I need after a morning workout.

The recipe is from Dr. Oz and only contains 5 ingredients. Peanut butter, quick oats, vanilla, dried cherries and honey. You can pretty much substitute any type of dried fruit and nuts. I typically use dried cranberries and have been adding pepitas (also known as pumpkin seeds) to mine. I love dried cherries, but they can be a little pricey sometimes, so I’ve used dried cranberries, and I usually have them on-hand.

Ingredients for Energy Bars

Ingredients for Energy Bars

 

Pepitas or Pumpkin Seeds

Pepitas or Pumpkin Seeds

Ingredients

  • 1 cup quick-cook oats
  • 1/3 cup dried tart cherries
  • 1/2 cup all-natural peanut butter
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla

**I double the recipe, and press it into a 9” square pan. This makes the bars a bit more substantial and easier to hold together instead of a thin bar.

IMG_2139

So, you pretty much dump everything into the bowl at once, give it a good mix with the mixer and you’re done!

 

 

IMG_2140

IMG_2141

After you’ve pressed the mixture into the pan (no need to grease the pan!) Store the pan in the fridge, as this helps the bars solidify a bit more and makes them easier to handle.

IMG_2142

I usually make a pan each Sunday and the pan takes us through the entire week. (for me and my husband)

 

Feel free to experiment a bit with this. I’m thinking of doing dried apricots and cashews for my next batch.

 

Let me know what you come up with, would love to hear your version of some energy bars.

 

To your health!

One thought on “Super-Easy, Yummy Energy Bar Recipe

Leave a Reply

