It’s been a long time…but I’m back (writing my blog)

Well here it is fall and I’ve not posted in a loooong time. I almost gave up and decided to scrap my blog, but then thought – what the heck – I’ll do small posts as time permits.

With fall weather right around the corner, I’m getting the itch to start working on some projects around the house and some fun crafts for the upcoming holidays. Now, if I can just remember to take pics and write a quick post about them!

Right now I’m working on my fireplace in the den. It used to be painted white (see “before” pic), now I’ve gone with a dark, taupey color and am going to paint the room Benjamin Moore’s Decorator White – which I’d not heard of until reading a decorator’s blog. I can’t wait for the room to be completed! Stay tuned… it will probably be a few months before it’s completely done.

Before photo with our mustard-y gold paint and white fireplace

Before photo with our mustard-y gold paint and white fireplace

New fireplace color!

New fireplace color! – Still have to paint the bottom portion 🙂

New fireplace color with new wall color!! (Benjamin Moore's Decorator White

New fireplace color with new wall color!! (Benjamin Moore’s Decorator White)

So for now, I’m going to enjoy my newly painted brick around my fireplace, and focus on painting the mantel an antique white chalk paint, while using some oil rubbed bronze wax to give it a little of a distressed look.

Hope you’re enjoying this end-of-summer-transition-to-fall!

Mary Kay

Leave a Reply

